Menu Edition #12 2020
Previous editions
Edition #12 2020

Edition #12 2020

Go Short 2020 was different in many ways. The Covid-19 crisis forced us to cancel the physical festival. Although we, unfortunately, could not live up to being an inspiring 5-day meeting place for short film talent & fans from all over Europe, we were able to organize an online alternative festival from April 15 – May 13: Go Short Online.

With Go Short Online, we honored the 2020 film selection and programming, our talent platform, and the stepping stone to international film awards such as the Oscars, European Film Awards, and BAFTAs. In short, we presented the best that Go Short 2020 had to offer! During this edition, we focused on the theme of nature and our spotlights were directed on filmmakers Corina Schwingruber Ilić and Nikola Ilić and versatile film country Norway.

Go Short's staff did not leave it at that. She now presents much of the original program online. [...] Everyone can now enjoy the explosion of creativity and imagination that the short film represents for four weeks at home.

Cultureel Persbureau
  • 29
    Days Go Short Online
  • 2200
    Total number of entries
  • 177
    Programmed films
  • 17062
    Number of views
  • 11
    Online events

Winners and Special Mentions

European Competition (Go Short Award + DCP mastering by Green DCP)

  • Fiction: The Bite - Pedro Neves Marques
  • Documentary: That Which is to Come is Just a Promise - Flatform
  • Animation: Genius Loci - Adrien Merigeau
  • Special Mention: At the Entrance of the Night - Anton Bialas

Student Competition (Go Short Encouragement Award)

  • This Means More - Nicolas Gourault

Dutch Competition (VEVAM / Go Short Award)

  • Best Dutch Film: So I Stay - Marieke de Zwaan
  • Special Mention: Short Trip - Cassandra Offenberg

Music Video Competition

  • Best Music Video: LOUSY / IN IN IN - Daniel Wirtberg
  • Special Mention: Careful - Alice Saey

European Film Awards nomination

  • The Bite - Pedro Neves Marques


European Competition Jury

  • Liz Harkman (UK)
  • Erik Glijnis (NL)
  • Diana Cam Van Nguyen (CZ)
  • Philbert Aimé Mbabazi (RW)
  • Delphine Jeanneret (FR)

Dutch and Student Competition Jury

  • Émilie Poirier (CA)
  • Johan Rijpma (NL)
  • Lucille Bourliaud (FR)
  • Sophie Koko Gate (UK)
  • Aleksandra Ławska (PO)

Catalogue Go Short 2020