Menu Winnaars Go Short Awards 2019 bekend
Winnaars Go Short Awards 2019 bekend

Winnaars Go Short Awards 2019 bekend

Tijdens de elfde editie van Go Short – International Short Film Festival Nijmegen zijn op zaterdagavond 6 april de prijzen voor de beste korte films van Europa uitgereikt. Twee internationale jury’s kozen de winnaars van de Europese Competitie, de Nederlandse Competitie en de Studentencompetitie. Het publiek heeft de winnaar gekozen van de VR-Competitie. De winnaar van de algemene publieksprijs wordt morgenmiddag bekend gemaakt.

In de Europese Competitie won Fuck You door regisseur Anette Sidor de award voor beste fictiefilm. Love 404 van regisseur Agata Baumgart won de award voor beste documentaire. De award voor beste animatie ging naar Bloeistraat 11 van Nienke Deutz. De jury reikte de award voor beste Europese kunstfilm uit aan de Portugese Jorge Jácome voor zijn film Past Perfect. Een Special Mention ging naar The Glorious Acceptance of Nicholas Chauvin van Benjamin Crotty 

 De prijs voor beste film uit de Studentencompetitie ging naar The Dam van Natalia Konarz. 

Crow’s Nest (Kraaiennest) van Flynn von Kleist won de award voor beste Nederlandse korte film. Een Special Mention kreeg de film The Walking Fish van Thessa Meijer. ‘Een modern en tijdloos sprookje waar de filmmakers mens en natuur op tragikomische wijze verenigen’ aldus de jury.  

De film Hard On van Joanna Rytel is door Go Short genomineerd voor de European Film Awards 

Mind My Mind van Floor Adams werd door het publiek verkozen tot beste film van het festival en kreeg op zondag de Go Short Audience Award. De film is daarmee tevens genomineerd voor de European Short Film Audience Award.

Europese Competitie: 

Go Short Award for Best European Short Fiction Film t.w.v. € 1.000,-  + DCP mastering

Fuck You Anette Sidor / Sweden / 2018 / 15′
Jury: “This filmmaker pushes boundaries and has created a thought-provoking and timely film that we were all affected by. With its complex and powerful female lead, this strong narrative challenges gender norms and expectations by exploring sexuality and power in a positive and accepting way.’’ 

 Go Short Award for Best European Short Documentary t.w.v. € 1.000,-  + DCP mastering

Love 404 Agata Baumgart / Poland / 2018 / 17’ 

Jury: ‘’The winning documentary film is an intimate portrait about the need to connect to others, and shows our two protagonists attempting to reach out through the online world. We recognize ourselves in this universal desire to fit in somewhere, perhaps even just with someone by finding love. Both of these characters mirror each other’s circumstance. They are socially, economically, digitally and emotionally dependent on one another. Still the filmmaker manages to make us feel the characters’ resilience and female power.’’ 

Go Short Award for Best European Short Art Film t.w.v. € 1.000,- + DCP mastering

Past Perfect Jorge Jácome / Portugal / 2019 / 24’
Jury: ‘’The winning film in the Art/Experimental category is well written, with humour and elements of surprise. A clever use of the Socratic dialogue through which the audience is being guided but still directly engaging with the narrative. Next to nostalgia, through the past lens the film comments on present society, seeing history through rose colored glasses. With a provocative play on expectations, the filmmaker manages to reduce the image layer to give room for the narrative to come to life. An original structure with no audible dialogue and a creative use of the text element, and the title itself. Very poetic and sensorial. We present the Art/Experimental award to Past Perfect, directed by Jorge Jácome.’’ 

Go Short Award for Best European Short Animation Film t.w.v. € 1.000,- + DCP mastering

Bloeistraat 11 Nienke Deutz / The Netherlands, Belgium / 2018 / 10′ 

Jury: ‘’We are awarding a film which observes the coming of age of a girl in a way that we have never seen before. The house where the protagonist lives in stays the same, while everything around her changes constantly: her brother´s music taste, her body, the relation to her best friend. The beautiful imagery and its aesthetics melt together with the sensitive narrative in a perfect way. By using translucent material for the characters the creator succeeded in expressing their vulnerability and sensitiveness and not the objectification of the body. We give the animation award to Bloeistraat 11 by Nienke Deutz.’’ 

Special Mention 
The Glorious Acceptance of Nicholas Chauvin Benjamin Crotty / France/ 2018 / 27′
Jury: ‘’Before leaving the fictional category, as a jury we could not help but mention a film about a stereotyped historical character trying to claim its complexity, as it defies the boundaries of time and space. By looking the audience directly in the eye, this film experiments with storytelling, leading us on a journey through castles and Daft Punk, archetypes and Oedipus complex. It struck us for its freedom, inventiveness, and sense of humor.’’ 


Encouragement Award for Best Student Short Film t.w.v. € 1500,- 

The Dam Natalia Konarz / Poland / 2018 / 23′
Jury: “ Natalia Koniarz succeeded to let us witness the reconnection between a father and son on such an intimate and personal level, that we were truly moved. We felt like there was no distance between us and them at all. An outstanding achievement of the filmmakers.’’ 

Nederlandse Competitie: 

VEVAM Go Short Award for Best Dutch Short Film t.w.v. € 2.500,- 

Crow’s Nest (KraaiennestFlynn von Kleist / The Netherlands / 2018 / 13’ 

Jury: “We were very touched by the performances of lead actors Romana Vrede and Yfendo van PraagCrow’s Nest is notable for it’s clear and sensitive storytelling and impressive cinematography. A must see for everyone.’’ 

Special Mention 

The Walking Fish Thessa Meijer / The Netherlands, Japan / 2018 / 19’ 

Jury: “ A modern and timeless fairytale where the filmmakers connected men and nature on a tragicomic way.’’ 


Opinions Alyssia Frankland, Kenneth Henderson / United Kingdom / 2017 / 7’ 

Nominatie voor European Film Awards  

Hard On Joanna Rytel / Sweden / 2019 / 20’ 

Jury: ‘’The style of this film is an inventive blend of all the categories mentioned beforeBy using a female gazethis sometimes unconventional perspective succeeds in create cutting-edge characters that celebrate sexuality and challenge traditional parenting structuresMeanwhilethe female protagonist is explicitly sexual AND childlike, even playfulThis non-judgemental depiction leaves the audience with questionsstirred feelings and even physical sensationsThis filmmaker couldn’t have been male – at least not yet. We need more light, funny and uncanny approaches like this in our serious world today.’’

Nederlandse muziekvideo-competitie 

Pynk / Emma Westenberg / United Kingdom, The Netherlands / 2018 / 5’

Internationale muziekvideo-competitie

Queens / Jonathan Alric, Guillaume Alric / France / 2018 / 4’

Audience Award

Mind My Mind / Floor Adams / The Netherlands / 2019 / 30′

Foto door Mario Ruiz